Colorado Auto Insurance Laws

Frequently Asked Questions on

In Colorado, car insurance is necessary for all drivers. Automobile insurance regulations are implemented because of the Colorado Department of Regulatory Agencies, Division of Insurance.

Until 2003, Colorado ended up being a “no-fault" state, but changed what the law states being lessen the expense of insurance premiums and help prevent statements abuses.

Colorado motor insurance today runs as a tort system, meaning that fault must certanly be founded before an insurance business will probably pay a claim.

Needed Motor Insurance

Colorado drivers should have liability insurance coverage, which takes care of just the various other car and/or driver when a major accident is your fault.

Colorado motorists must have responsibility protection at following minimums:

  • $25, 000 per individual for actual injury.
  • $50, 000 per accident for bodily injury.
  • $15, 000 per accident for home damage.
  • Other motor insurance is optional.

    Optional Auto Insurance

    Colorado auto insurance providers additionally provide a number of recommended coverage kinds:

  • Collision coverage: Helps cover damages to your automobile due to striking other items, including another car.
  • Extensive protection: Covers damages to your car due to non-accident-related incidents or factors, such as for instance theft, severe weather condition, and wildlife.
  • Medical repayment (“med pay") coverage: Must be supplied as an element of any Colorado car insurance.
  • Its available in increments of $1, 000 towards accidents.
  • You can opt out-of med-pay protection or acquisition higher protection limitations if provided by your vehicle insurance carrier.
  • Uninsured/underinsured driver coverage: Helps address expenditures if you should be associated with any sort of accident with a motorist who has no insurance coverage or too little insurance.
  • Local rental car coverage.
  • Loan/lease gap coverage.
  • Roadside assistance/towing coverage.
  • NOTE: Finance and renting sellers require you to have collision and car insurance on any financed vehicle.

    CO Car Insurance & Registration

    The Colorado Division of cars (DMV) requires you to definitely show evidence of auto insurance to join up your vehicle or renew your registration.

    The DMV need some of the following as proof of insurance:

  • Insurance card.
  • Copy of car insurance.
  • Printout or fax of insurance policy.

  • dating in the internet http://yaque-beach.com for tall women

    Copyright © . All Rights Reserved